NATIONAL TAIWAN UNIVERSITY Directives for the Establishment of the Biosafety Committee

July 13, 2006	Passed by the Environmental Protection and Occupational Safety and Health (EHS)
	Committee at its 4 th meeting, Academic Year 2005-06
July 18, 2006	Passed by the 2,441st Administrative Meeting
January 25, 2008	Amended and passed by the EHS Committee at its 2 nd meeting, Academic Year
	2007-08
February 26, 2008	Amended and passed by the 2,514 th Administrative Meeting
October 21, 2014	Amended and passed by the EHS Committee at its 1st meeting, Academic Year
	2014-15
November 18, 2014	Amended and passed by the 2,835 th Administrative Meeting
May 07, 2019	Amended and passed by the 3,040 th Administrative Meeting

Article 1 National Taiwan University (NTU or "the University") hereby establishes the NTU Biosafety Committee ("the Committee") under the Environmental Protection and Occupational Safety and Health Committee ("the EHS Committee") to ensure the safety of faculty, staff, and students during biological experiments and teaching/research activities.

- Article 2 The Committee's duties are as follows:
 - 1. Review of the containment, storage, use, treatment, and import/export of risk group 2 (RG2) or above microbes and biotoxins
 - 2. Review of the biosafety levels of laboratories that handle RG2 or above microbes and biotoxins
 - 3. Biosafety reviews of gene transfer and recombination experiments
 - 4. Review of biosafety emergency response plans at laboratories
 - 5. Review of the establishment, remodeling, expansion, launch, or suspension of biological laboratories
 - 6. Arbitration of biosafety disputes at laboratories
 - 7. Oversight of annual internal biosafety audits at laboratories and follow-up improvements
 - 8. Oversight of biosafety training for laboratory personnel
 - 9. Review and oversight of other matters related to infectious biomaterials and biosafety at laboratories
 - 10. Handling, investigation, and reporting of biosafety incidents at laboratories
- Article 3 The Committee shall take the form of a commission and shall be composed of 9-11 members. An Executive Vice President of the University shall serve as the chairperson of the Committee to coordinate and oversee its operations. The Director of the EHS Committee shall serve as the executive secretary. Additional ex officio members shall include the Head of the EHS Center's Biosafety Management Division and Chair of the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee. The executive secretary shall fill the remaining seats with NTU faculty members specializing in biology-related fields or technologies, who shall be referred to the NTU President for appointment.

Members appointed in accordance with the preceding paragraph shall be

appointed to two-year terms and may serve consecutively if re-appointed.

- Article 4 The Committee shall convene once per semester. Meetings shall be chaired by the executive secretary, with meeting minutes reported to the chairperson for approval. Interim meetings may be called as necessary.
- Article 5 The Committee may establish independent divisions to handle specific matters as needed. Regulations for the establishment of such divisions shall be passed by the Administrative Meeting prior to implementation.
- Article 6 These directives shall be passed by the Administrative Meeting and then implemented on the date of promulgation.